Earn Money By Clicking



Saturday, April 13, 2019

Province-2, Farwest dominate wrestling

Wrestlers Ramesh Gotame and Jigyasu Giri after being named the best players. Photo: THT

Kathmandu, April 12

Province-2 bagged six gold medals in men’s section, while Far-west claimed seven in women’s category of wrestling tournament under the eighth National Games today.

Province-5, the hosts of the Games, came second in men’s section with three gold medals, while Tribhuvan Army Club were third with one. In women’s section, TAC finished second with three gold medals, whereas Province-1 were third with one. A total of 132 wrestlers — 81 men and 51 women — took part in the three-day tournament that offered 20 gold medals.

On the final day, Naresh Yadav (57kg), Jay Mangal Yadav (61kg), 12th South Asian Games bronze medallist Saroj Yadav (65kg), Punni Lal Raut (79kg), Sumir Shah  (92kg) and Raj Yadav  (125kg) won gold medals for Province-2. Tilak Deuja (TAC), Jadulal Yadav (Province-3), Ritesh Yadav (NPC), Sunil Kumar Shah (Province-3), Sagar Kumar Yadav (NPC) and Karan Bhatta (Farwest) won silver medals respectively.

Likewise, Ramesh Gotame (97kg), Bhuvaneshwor Yadav (86kg) and Baijanath Yadav (74kg) won gold medals for Province-5. Sandeep Kumar Yadav (Province-2), Sanjay Tikhawari (Farwest) and Mulgar Alam (Province-2) were second in the three weight categories respectively. Suresh Chunara of TAC defeated Manoj Prasad Yadav of Province-2 in the 70kg weight category final.

In women’s section, Neera Auji of Farwest won the 65kg weight category gold beating Sumitra Magar of TAC. Bimala Sunar (68kg) and Laxmi Khatri (72kg) added gold medals to Farwest tally beating NPC opponents Nirmala Jagari and Rekha Rawal respectively. Sushila Chand of TAC defeated Sapana Chand of Farwest in the 62kg weight category final, while Srijasu Giri of Province-1 beat Laxmi DC of Province-5 to win the 76kg section final.

Lawn Tennis

Santosh Khatri of Nepal APF Club, Samrakshyan Bhushan Bajracharya, Pranav Khanal and Pradeep Khadka advanced to the men’s singles semi-finals of tennis tournament in Devinagar, Rupandehi.

Khatri defeated Bhisma Kaucha 6-2, 6-1, while Bajracharya beat Jitendra Pariyar 6-4, 6-0. Khanal registered a 6-1, 6-1 victory over Samyak Bhushan Bajracharya, whereas Khadka defeated Navin Magar 6-1, 2-6, 6-2.

In women’s singles, Prerana Koirala, Ira Rawat, Abhilasha Bista and Rayana Shah made it to the semis. Koirala beat Eni Mathema 6-2, 6-2, Rawat defeated Pratkriti Shrestha 6-1, 3-6, 6-0, Bista registered a 7-6, 6-2 victory over Ganga Sharma, and Shah outplayed Shreya Bhattarai 6-1, 6-1 in the quarter-final matches.


Amrit Thapa Magar of Gandaki Province and Pavin Bir Kansakar of Province-3 advanced to the men’s singles final of the squash tournament in Lalitpur on Friday. In the semi-final matches at the Nepal Squash Academy, Thapa Magar registered a 11-6, 11-3, 11-8 victory over Deepak Thapa of Province-2, while Kansakar came from a set down to beat fellow Province-3 player Rajendra Shakya 6-11, 11-4, 11-7, 13-15, 11-7. The final is slated for Saturday.


Province-3, Gandaki Province, Nepal APF Club and Tribhuvan Army Club won their league round matches of the basketball tournament in Ghorahi, Dang. Province-3 registered a 94-48 victory over Province-5 riding on 26 points from Sadish Pradhan, who is also the national team skipper. Likewise, Gandaki outplayed Province-1 79-49 in which Jimen Pun top scored for the winning team with 15 points, while Rupesh Nami netted 14 points as Nepal APF Club hammered Karnali Province 92-32. Also, Anish Basnet scored 19 points to help TAC to a 88-23 victory over Province-2. The women’s tournament will begin on Saturday.


Nepal Police Club registered their second straight victory in the 18th National Hockey Tournament in Nepalgunj. Roman Rana scored a brace and Rajendra Karki netted one as NPC slammed three unanswered goals against Province-3. In another match, Province-5 hammered Karnali 7-0. Mohammad Sheikh and Manish Gurung scored two goals each, while Aman Kumar, Sonu Lama and Ravi Kanta Kumar netted one apiece. Also, Gandaki Province and Province-2 played a 1-1 draw. Rajan Nepali put Gandaki ahead in the 39th minute, while Arjun Khadka levelled the scores for Province-2 in 51st minute.

Table Tennis

Shantoo Shrestha and Nabita Shrestha of NPC won the mixed doubles gold medal of the 40th National Table Tennis Tournament. The national champions defeated fellow NPC pair Binesh Khaniya and Elina Maharjan 8-11, 12-10, 11-6, 11-4. Purushottam Bajracharya and Sikka Suwal of APF and Bodhit DC and Dikshya Tamang of TAC finished joint third.

In men’s singles, Shantoo Shrestha and Pradeep Rokka of NPC and APF duo Shiva Sundar Gothe and Bilosh Shrestha advanced to the semi-finals. Likewise, Nabita Shrestha and Elina Maharjan of NPC, and TAC’s Dikshya Tamang and Rabina Maharjan made it to the women’s singles semis.


Province-3 won two gold medals, while TAC and APF claimed one each in the fourth National Fencing Championship under the eighth National Games at the Nepalgunj Stadium covered hall. Amit Bhandari defeated Rajendra Gajurel of APF in the men’s individual sabre final, while Payas Yonjan of Province-3 and Nur Bahadur Tamang of TAC finished joint third. APF’s Mandira Thapa won the women’s section gold with a 15-9 victory over Anju Tamang of Province-4. Anita Adhikari of APF and Rama Singh of TAC bagged bronze.

Omkar Singh of Province-3 won the men’s individual epee gold medal. He defeated TAC’s Dipendra Bista 15-14 in the final. TAC’s Ram Thapa and APF’s Sagar Thapa bagged bronze medals. TAC claimed the women’s sabre team event gold medal. The team of Kamala Shrestha, Bina Thapa, Asmita Basnet and Januka Thapa registered a 45-16 victory over APF in the final.

from Sports – The Himalayan Times http://bit.ly/2KyIJP4

No comments:

Post a Comment