Earn Money By Clicking



Sunday, May 5, 2019

PM Cup cricket from May 15

PM Cup cricket tournament

NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista (left) and Chairman of Nepalaya International Subash Pradhan exchanging the MoU in Kathmandu on Sunday. Photo: THT

Kathmandu, May 5

National Sports Council is organising the third edition of the Prime Minister Cup One-Day Cricket Tournament at the Tribhuvan University Stadium from May 15 to June 7.

A total of 10 teams — one each from seven provinces and three departmental sides — will take part in the tournament which will be managed by Nepalaya International, informed the organisers at a press meet today.

The NSC and Nepalaya International exchanged the memorandum of understanding to conduct the tournament. NSC Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista and Nepalaya International Chairman Subash Pradhan signed the agreement papers.

As per the MoU, Nepal International will be responsible of managing the event apart from bringing in the sponsors up to Rs 9.3 million.

The NSC will spend eight million rupees for the tournament. The estimated budget of the tournament is Rs 17.5 million.

Member Secretary Bista said the sports governing body was compelled to seek the event management company to conduct the tournament as the NSC lacked proper technical manpower. “We do not have qualified manpower to conduct a tournament of this level. And we chose Nepalaya International after studying a couple of proposals last year. We do not have enough companies who can conduct such tournament and this year no one showed willingness except for Nepalaya,” he added.

Nepalaya International Chairman Pradhan, himself a former cricketer said the tournament would help in saving the essence of limited-over cricket. “Everyone is after commercial events and someone needed to step up to organise 50-over tournament.

As a cricketer, I know the essence of limited-over tournament as Nepal will be fighting for Test status some day,” he said.

The participating 10 teams will be divided into two groups and top two each will make it to the semi-finals.

The winners and runners-up will receive two million rupees and one million rupees respectively, while the player of the series will get a motorcycle. Likewise, the best batsman and bowler will get Rs 50,000 each, while the spectators can earn Rs 50,000 for each one-handed catch outside the boundary.

from Sports – The Himalayan Times http://bit.ly/2JgaedS

No comments:

Post a Comment