Earn Money By Clicking



Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Province-2 beat Farwest, claim U-16 cricket title

Manmohan Memorial Inter-Province U-16 National Cricket Tournament

Province-2 players and officials celebrate after winning the Manmohan Memorial Inter-Province U-16 National Cricket Tournament at the TU Stadium on Tuesday.

Kathmandu, May 7

Province-2 defeated Farwest Province by four wickets in the final of the Manmohan Memorial Inter-Province U-16 National Cricket Tournament here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, Farwest posted 133-9 in their allotted 30 overs before Province-2 raced to 136-6 with 21 balls to spare. Champions Province-2 received Rs 250,000 and cricket kits worth Rs 250,000, while Farwest earned Rs 125,000 and gears.

Chasing a modest target, Province-2 openers Rohan BK and Sheikh Imran put 57 runs before they were dismissed in the space of one run. Wicketkeeper-batsman BK scored a quick fire 36 off 21 balls hitting three each fours and sixes, while Imran scored 29-ball 14 that included three boundaries.

Province-2 were reduced to 78-5 at one stage before skipper Nikhil Singh and B Patel added 41 runs for the sixth wicket to take the team close to victory. Patel then combined with Prasant Singh (two) to complete the victory without further loss.

Singh struck three fours in his 47-ball 27, while Patek remained unbeaten on 28 off 27 balls hitting three fours.

Ashish Bhatta of Farwest returned with 3-9 from six overs, while Govind Bist and Sachin Badayak grabbed one wicket each.

Earlier, Farwest lost opener Arun Mahara in the first ball of the innings and Dhirendra Thakur also failed to open his accounts as they were reduced to 2-1. Skipper Suwash Ayer and Sandeep Bist revived the innings adding 76 runs for the third wicket but the middle order collapsed and Farwest lost four wickets in the space of nine runs.

Skipper Ayer top scored with 47 off 54 balls hitting seven boundaries, while Bist struck five fours in his 50-ball 28. Ashish Bhatta scored 21 off 28 balls, while Govind Bist contributed 14. Province-2 skipper Nikhil Singh (3-23) and B Patel (3-31) shared six wickets between them, while Prashant Singh and Arabaj Ansari bagged one each. Singh was named the man of the match.

Farwest skipper Ayer was adjudged the player of the series, while Province-3 duo Aaish Bhattarai and Deepak Bohara were named the best batsman and bowler respectively.

Bhargav Chataut, also from Province-3, won the emerging player’s award.

Former Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal, Member Secretary of National Sports Council Keshab Kumar Bista, Member of Parliament Ram Kumari Jhakri, former NSC Acting Member Secretary Sakuntala Nagarkoti, former president of CAN Binay Raj Pandey and Olympian Deepak Bista among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

from Sports – The Himalayan Times http://bit.ly/2VktWMS

No comments:

Post a Comment